Wednesday, September 14, 2011

UN releases names of victims of Abuja bomb attack.

The United Nations has released a list of names of twenty one of the twenty three people confirmed to have lost their lives in the bomb attack that occurred on Friday 26 August 2011 at UN mission building Abuja. Spokesperson for UN, UN Resident Coordinator, Mr. Daouda Touré, said 11 were UN staff and 12 non-UN staff.
Below is the list.

1.    Ms. Rahmat Abdullahi (Registry Clerk, UNDP)
2.    Mr. Musa Ali (Zonal Logistics Assistant for the North-West Zone, WHO)
3.    Mr. Johnson Awotunde (Monitoring and Evaluation Specialist, UNICEF)
4.    Dr. Edward Dede (National Professional Officer, WHO)
5.    Mr. Elisha Enaburekhan (Driver, UNAIDS)
6.    Mr. Ahmed Adewale-Kareem (Shipping Assistant, UNICEF)
7.    Mr. Iliya Musa (Receptionist, UN Common Services, UNDP)
8.    Ms. Ingrid Midtgaard (Association Expert, UNODC)
9.    Mrs. Felicia Nkwuokwu (Receptionist, UN Common Services, UNDP)
10.   Mr. Stephen Obamoh (Radio Operator, UNDP)
11.   Mr. Abraham Osunsaya (Administrative Assistant, WHO)
The non-UN staff:
1.    Mr. Sunday James Ebere (Shipping Agent, Balast Agency)
2.    Mr. Ndubisi Bright (World Trade Hospitality Industry Consults)
3.    Mr. Paul Waziri (Nigeria Clearing Services)
4.    Ms. Kate Demehin (Federal Ministry of Health)
5.    Ms. Caroline  Michael
6.     Mr. Sunday Omelenyi (Guard)
7.     Mr. Yakubu Garuba (Guard)
8.     Mr. Abiodun Adeseye (Julius Berger)
9.     Ms. Patricia Ekweringe (Travel Agent)
10.  Ms Joy Audu (Nigeria Clearing Services);
 and two other unidentified persons.
The breakdown showed that 116 people who were injured in the blast were receiving medical treatment; 64 of them are UN staff, 36 non-UN staff and 16 yet to be identified persons. Among the injured, 17 were seriously injured (12 UN and 5 non-UN staff) and they have been evacuated to South Africa for specialist treatment.
I wish the injured victims a very speedy recovery.
May the souls of the departed find rest in God, amen.

1 comment: